Watershed Councils

are community organized, voluntary groups that work to protect the natural resources and restore or enhance habitat for wildlife and native plants in local watersheds.


The Middle Deschutes Watershed Council is a member of the Network of Oregon Watershed Councils (NOWC) and one of 59 watershed councils in Oregon receiving funding from the Oregon Watershed Enhancement Board to carry out restoration projects, monitor watershed health, and engage the community.

Learn more about watershed

councils on the NOWC website.

The Middle Deschutes Watershed Council 

is a community-based organization representing a broad range of stakeholders who live, work and recreate in the Middle Deschutes Watershed.  This region encompasses the Willow Creek and Trout Creek Watersheds, which were previously represented by separate councils.  Jefferson County covers most of the Willow Creek and Trout Creek Watersheds, but portions of Crook and Wasco Counties are also within the Council’s service area.  The majority of the area is in private ownership.

The City of Madras is the area’s primary urban center. Other communities include Metolius, Culver, Gateway, Ashwood, and Antelope. The watersheds also include significant areas managed by the federal government, including the Ochoco National Forest, and the Crooked River National Grassland (managed by the US Forest Service), and lands managed by the Bureau of Land Management (BLM).

Staff & board of directors

Mission & History

Funding & Partners